The Time Has Come!

The time has arrived, and now that it’s so close I just wish it were here already! But life is a great thing, and I don’t want to ever wish it away, so I am going to really try and savor these last few days that I have here in the United States. How am I going to savor it you ask? Well, for example, right now I am watching the Yankees. Which in a few days, will be something I won’t be able to do for to long of a time! Boy, yanks I am sure going to miss you. I’ll probably miss you more than anything else. I love you. Anyway, back to the savor moments. Tomorrow my parents gave me the honor of getting to decide where we go for dinner. I am thinking of somewhere that is going to sell a true All-American meal … which is what exactly?

Last Friday was my last day of work and they gave me a beautiful cake that read “Bon Voyage!” They are just the greatest there! It was after I was walking out the doors of my office that I realized, “Holy Moly, I am going to Israel!” Fast forward to the following Wednesday at 7:00 a.m. when I had to say goodbye to someone who I have grown very close and attached to these past eight months. After that so-long (literally) moment I drove for two and a half hours back to my house and started the packing. Let me just say that I have been known to in the past, well, brag about my packing. But I don’t think I was ever extremely challenged like I was this time. To fit the next ten months of your life in just one suitcase and two backpacks is not the easiest task in the world. However, after many tears and swears and fits of stressful rage I have FINISHED packing! Here, my friends, is just one of the many major accomplishments and rewarding moments I am about to have:

I will end here and just say that I am very excited for this adventure to begin. (Although I will admit, I am also a bit nervous!) The next post I write I will officially BE IN ISRAEL! The first week I arrive is orientation and I will be hiking throughout the country and getting to know the other members of my program. I doubt I will have access to my computer, but I promise once I am in my new home and settled I will write up a lengthy post of my adventures thus far. Siman Tov and Mazal Tov to me!

5 thoughts on “The Time Has Come!

  1. can’t believe this is actually happening. wow. so impressed with your packing…i really hope i get to seeee you laur

  2. Good for you! I think I packed more than that for 3 days in the Hamptons….this will be a life skill for you….one of many! Love you! Aunt Julie

  3. Dropped you off this morning and cannot believe your adventure has begun as I’m typing this. Miss you already – but know this will be a life learning experience. So proud of you and can’t wait to follow your blog – love you very much.

    Love, Mom

  4. Pingback: 2010 in review « Holy Moly It's Lauren's Blog

Leave a Reply

