Bronx Bombers

I am not too sure who is wondering but I want you all to know that I WILL be keeping up with those Bronx Bombers. In my OTZMA interview back in the states I was asked what I will miss most about the US and my answer was, “coffee and baseball.” The coffee here is much different. It is either Turkish or by a brand of ‘nescafe.’ Either way, you have to take already-grinded beans out of the jar and put about a spoonful in the bottom of your cup. Then you pour hot water over it. The idea of “drip coffee” is non-existent over here in the Middle East. When the coffee is done it looks like there is mud at the bottom of your cup. It took a little getting used to, and I can’t say I’ll miss it too much when I am back in North America, but it’s not too terrible. It does help that I recently found a place that has flavored lattes. Starbucks unfortunately failed when they came to Israel so I don’t doubt that that will be the first place I go when I get off the plane in Newark next June. It is interesting because Starbucks CEO Howard Schultz gives a lot of money to the state of Israel and there are a lot of Arab boycotters because of it. However, there are also a lot of successful Starbuck shops found in Arab countries, yet none in Israel.

Anyway, onto my second part of the answer on what I’d miss: baseball. Ahhh baseball, America’s greatest past time. I haven’t even seen a baseball field since I’ve been in Israel. It is tough to follow, and just not the same. I try my best though, every morning when I wake up I go to yankees.com and check out all the new news. When it comes playoff time I’ll be fortunate enough to watch the games on another Otzmanikims computer. Given the time difference the game here will be aired from 2:00 a.m. – onward. Here is where the coffee and baseball connect. If the Yankees win I will be a very happy camper, and I won’t mind this Turkish mud coffee at all. But if the Yankees lose, I will be calling Howard Schultz and demanding another shot at making Starbucks work here.

So as I end this entry I just want to say, Go Yankees! Let’s do it again for George, and this time we’ll also do it for Mr. Bob Sheppard. Miss and love all of you. Especially you DJ – don’t worry I’ll be back in the states soon enough.

5 thoughts on “Bronx Bombers

    • Good start to the ALDS. Lauren props to you and your friends for being such devoted fans – for me to go to sleep at 12:30 am after a game is late but for you all to go to sleep at 6:30 am is DEDICATION!

  1. I was able to watch game two. I went out for a little with my friends and then came home and watched it, it was a great game! I asked for a “comfort run” at the end and all of a sudden (all of a sudden) it was 5-2. Let’s hope we can keep it up!

Leave a Reply

