Michael Jackson: Heal the World

Last year I came up with, what I think, was a brilliant idea for my college roommates and I. I told them that over winter break to compile together some of their home videos, and when we got bored or were feeling lazy around the house, we could watch videos of each other when we were young. I of course got really into it, and one night my mom and I watched practically all of our home videos from when I was younger. One of the videos we found was of me singing my heart out to the song “Heal the World” by Michael Jackson. If you are unfamiliar with the tune you can hear it here.

At this time I had just started to look into going to Israel to be a volunteer. My mom made a comment of how fitting [and bizarre] it was to what I wanted to do in the near future.

There Are Ways
To Get There
If You Care Enough
For The Living
Make A Little Space
Make A Better Place…

Heal The World
Make It A Better Place

This video became quite popular; not only did I show it to my roommates, but I also embarrassingly showed it to my other college friends. I also shared it with my relatives, and I can specifically remember my Aunt Julie having tears coming from her eyes when she watched it because she was laughing so hard. As you can see, this video had quite an effect on me at the time.

So it could not have been even more fitting when I walked into the mall in Rehovot the other day to grocery shop. Right when you enter the mall there is a little play area for children. Sometimes activities are going on for them. One time there was a clown there for entertainment. This particular morning moms and their kids were sitting around in a circle singing a song. And, that song was Michael Jackson’s “Heal the World.” I stood there for a few minutes just staring at the scene, I couldn’t believe what I was seeing! I had no idea who to share this with because no one here in Israel has ever seen, or even knows of, the existence of my video. Due to this dilemma I kind of forgot about it.

But the bizarre story does not end there. This morning I was volunteering and the teacher put on a song to teach the children English. I bet you can guess what the song was. Yes, Michael Jackson’s, “Heal the World.” This song was fitting to play. For one, I am volunteering in a room filled with immigrants from all over the world. It also, is in fact a good song for teaching English. But to me it’s just so strange and coincidental that I’m volunteering in a room full of kids who are my age at the time I sang that song to the video camera. And not just any song, but a song about making the world a better place.

3 thoughts on “Michael Jackson: Heal the World

  1. That is really cool, Lauren. I think that does have a special meaning, if you allow it to.

    I had a similar thing happen to me–I heard a song for the first time that really touched me, and then the next day I sat in on a guitarist who happened to record that same song. Then, it was played in my Psychology of Music class as a random example for something that same week. And to top it off, I met this girl who did a recording for me in my sound recording class, and while she was practicing she started to play that song!

    Some things are just too random to forget about–allow it to have meaning and it will stick with you. Cool story Lauren!

    Love
    Ian

  2. Ah, a true masterpiece, that video! You could feel your passion way back then! You really took Michael’s words and have transformed them into your life! You care enough to make a difference in people’s lives and circumstances. So proud of you! Love, Aunt Julie

Leave a Reply

