The Jerusalem Marathon

I did it! I ran my first competitive race. It was a 10K/ 6.4 miles, and Miriam and I finished in just an hour and ten minutes. The night before we ate a delicious and festive pre-run dinner of pasta with vegetables. I of course added some tofu to the mix. The next morning I had oatmeal with a banana and a few walnuts and almonds. Soon enough the fuel food was digested and I was ready!

It took us about twenty minutes to walk to the starting line and by the time I got there my adrenaline was pumping. Before we took off we did some stretching.

Then, per usual, we did some laughing.

Before we knew it, it was 11 minutes past 8:25 (typical of Israel to begin late), and we were in jog mode. We started off slow, and we especially became slower on the hills. We ran down the Ben Yehuda downtown area, through the Mamilla Mall area, into the Old City, and then back up; running in a full circle back to the finish line. Every time I looked around me there were beautiful views of Jerusalem. Randomly there were steamers to run under to cool you off, people were passing out water, and dj’s and bands were playing along the way. Because it’s Israel not only did we start late, but people could just casually cross the street where we were running with their pets if they wanted to get to the other side. Normal.

Before we knew it we were at the finish line! We were greeted with a wonderful sign that Vanessa had made us.

I thought I’d feel so excited to have completed the race. But really, I was just exhausted. I am so glad I went to Jerusalem yesterday to run. After all that had happened the spirit was really high and even if for a little while, the recent events were put on the back burner. It was a beautiful day, spent with some beautiful friends, and with some beautiful, yet really worn out, running shoes.

Photos by Vanessa Friedman.

2 thoughts on “The Jerusalem Marathon

Leave a Reply

