Food Blog: Seared Tofu with Honey Spiced Glaze

Being diagnosed with Crohn’s a few years ago I thought up until last August I had a great knowledge of food and all that it had to offer. But since coming to Israel I have learned so much more. I have not just learned about what’s healthy and not healthy, but I have learned what combinations of spices, foods, etc. can come together and create a delicious meal. I have learned the importance of how food is grown, and the long process it goes through before it is in your kitchen. I have learned how to thoroughly wash fruits and vegetables, simply running them under the faucet is not enough. I have also learned the satisfaction you can feel from cooking, and then eating that meal afterwards. Food brings people together, it fuels your body, if consumed correctly it makes you feel beautiful inside and out. Food is medicine. I will miss Israel for many reasons, but one being at the very near top of my list is the food here.

I’d like to share another recipe with you that Ariel and I have made twice. It is called “seared tofu with honey spiced glaze.” First Ariel and I cooked it for just ourselves one night when I was visiting her in Tel Aviv. But the weekend of my birthday we held an OTZMA Shabbat dinner in my apartment and we decided to make round two of this delicious tofu dish. Even those who don’t typically like tofu loved it. So while you may find the ingredients to be quite weird and contrasting, know that when they come together they taste delicious.

What You Need:
4 Tbsp honey
1 clove garlic (minced) [We added more because we are giant fans of garlic]
1 small shallot (minced)
2 Tbsp rice vinegar
2 tsp prepared horseradish
1 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp salt
Some olive oil
16 ounces extra firm tofu (sliced into 8 slices)

What We Did:
First we pre-heated our toaster over to around 325°. Then we put the tofu onto a pan with a small amount of olive oil to let it cook. After a few minutes we flipped it over so both sides were equally brown and crunchy. While the tofu was simmering we mixed all the ingredients of the sauce together in a bowl.

After a little while we poured the sauce into the pan that the tofu was cooking in. We let it all simmer together for about ten minutes, flipping the tofu again after about five. Since there is a lot of flippage action I would recommend not cutting the tofu’s too tiny, as that can get annoying.

After it seemed like the sauce had mixed in well with the tofu we transferred the contents from the pan into a baking dish. We put it into the oven and let it cook for about twenty minutes. Ariel and I like our tofu crispy, but if you are more of a fan of soft tofu then twenty minutes in the oven will be too long. What is so beautiful about tofu is that it is so versatile and you can really cook it to how you like it. We added a delicious tomato and onion balsamic salad to go with it.

While some of you may be afraid of tofu and think it’s weird I want to note that you shouldn’t look at it as a replacement of meat. Rather you should look at it as a food on its own that is a good source of protein. And if you are still afraid of it then I suggest you cook this recipe and then try and tell me you aren’t a fan. To tofu!

Leave a Reply

